Some packet help.....

12 replies to this topic

#1 fingleburt

fingleburt

• Members
    • Pip
    • 8 posts

Posted 01 November 2014 - 06:16 AM

Please forgive me but I'm new to lua coding, I have a question similar to Saydn http://forums.window...packets/?p=2504 ,except I dont want to cancel the packets but instead I would like the addon to output the parsed data to a text file, is that possible?

#2 Arcon

Arcon

Advanced Member

• Windower Staff
      • 1189 posts
      • LocationMunich, Germany

Posted 01 November 2014 - 06:46 AM

You can use the PacketViewer addon for that. Load it and type the following to log packet contents to a file:

//pv log file 0x01E 0x01F 0x020 0x050

This will log every occurrence of any of those packets to a file. Instead of file you can also log to console or to chatlog. You can also shorten it to //pv l f [list of packet IDs]. If you want to log all but a certain set of packets, you can do //pv log file not [list of IDs].

You can also make the packet appear on screen in a text box and record previous packets then scroll through them:

//pv track incoming 0x017; pv rec

Then send yourself a few tells, you'll see a box appear with the packet dissected. To view previously tracked packets do //pv display n, where n is the index of the packet to display. If you tracked incoming 0x017 (the packet containing chat-info) and had 5 such packets come in, you can do //pv display 4 to show the fourth such packet. You can also hover over the display box and use the mouse wheel to scroll through all the previous packets.

#3 fingleburt

fingleburt

• Members
      • Pip
      • 8 posts

Posted 01 November 2014 - 04:57 PM

That's exactly what I'm after, thank you. For some reason it wont log the packet's to a file, I've tried //pv log file 0x01E as an example but no log file is generated. Everything else though is spot on!

#4 Arcon

Arcon

Advanced Member

• Windower Staff
        • 1189 posts

Posted 02 November 2014 - 06:13 PM