1 reply to this topic

#1 Kazaki

Kazaki

• Members
    • PipPip
    • 17 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 05:20 PM

Hi all,

Apologies for what is going to sound like a nooby post, I was hoping that someone could point me in the right direction.

I'd really like to learn how to code, so I thought why not start with something that I can see working on a game I play regularly. I have zero coding knowledge but would like to learn through a small/simple project. Currently, I'm going through freecodecamp and I'm right at the start of it, so my knowledge really is right at the start.

I was thinking of creating a plugin that plays a custom sound file when a new item goes into your inventory. This probably sounds incredibly simple for the pros out there but I would like to achieve this as a first goal type thing.

I've been thinking about what I would need;

• Be able to detect a new item going into inventory, as I don't want it to trigger on old items of the same ID
      • Detect item IDs
      • Read player inventory
      • commands to add/remove items to a 'watch list' 
      • Read the watch list items (by ID and by name?) that then triggers a saved sound file 
      • Trigger the sound file

Is there anything else I would need to do think about? 

The biggest question I have really is; where would I first start as someone who knows pretty much nothing? I've been looking around the forums but it seems a little too advanced for my stage. 

Huge thanks in advance for your kind replies and guidance. 

Kazaki

#2 Nifim

Nifim

• Members
      • PipPip
      • 13 posts
      • LocationWashington

Posted 24 July 2017 - 04:29 AM

Hi Kaz,

Since i am not sure how much info you want versus how much you want to figure out on your own. Here is the bare minimum the direction you need to be looking > http://dev.windower....pi:events:start. To be more specific you want to scroll down to "add item" in the event list, this event has everything you need for what you are looking to do.