5 replies to this topic

#1 ScaryMonster

ScaryMonster

• Members
    • Pip
    • 2 posts

Posted 14 June 2016 - 06:16 PM

Hello,

I'm in the process of creating an addon that needs to have some form of internet communication to function. I have all of the communication done, but am getting a blocked UI whenever waiting for a response. 

I am new to LUA and was just wondering if there was any form of asynchronous callbacks / background thread that can be done.

Here's what the code looks like now..

function printItemPrices(itemID)
      	 local tcp = assert(socket.tcp())
           tcp:connect(host, port)
      	 tcp:send("GET /AHPrice/GetNamePriceForID.aspx?id=" .. itemID .. " HTTP/1.0\r\n\r\n")

lastLine = ''

local loopCount = 0

--This is where i am freezing
      	 while true do
      		 local s, status, partial = tcp:receive()
      		 lastLine = s or partial
      		 if status == "closed" or status == "Socket is not connected" then break end
      	 end
      	 tcp:close()
      	 tcp:shutdown("both")
      	 if (string.match(lastLine, ",")) then
      		  --handle response
      	 end

end

Thanks!

#2 Iryoku

Iryoku

Advanced Member

• Windower Staff
      • 488 posts

Posted 14 June 2016 - 09:07 PM

Lua doesn't have any concept of threads. It has coroutines which on the surface may look similar to threads (they are even called threads by Lua internally), but are very different beasts entirely. Addons always run entirely on a single OS thread and there is no way to fork off a thread to run tasks in the background. Windower implements a coroutine scheduler which allows addons to yield control back to Windower (coroutine.yield) so that other code (even code from the same addon) can run; the scheduler will eventually resume the addon where it left off and the call to yield will return as if nothing had happened. (coroutine.sleep is also a Windower extension, and is implemented on top of coroutine.yield.)